The Americas Gala Ceremony 2010

22 October 2010 – Jamaica

The Americas


BONEY M original Maizie Williams

Main Act

The 1970s saw the birth of Disco - 100% freaking, boogying, hustling, bumping, bus-stopping, pure disco dancing. It started in the mid-70s and continued right through into the 80s.

One of the biggest groups to stand out and make their mark was BONEY M. Their career was comet-like in that they seemed to blast out of nowhere. Suddenly every discotheque around the world played Boney M and every TV show wanting to be hip had to have this stunning-looking and fabulous-sounding foursome from the Caribbean.

Now Maizie Williams, who was with Boney M. from the very beginning will be recreating those unique special moments live with her own band of musicians.

Sonja Sohn

Sonja Sohn

Guest Presenter

Born in Virginia, Sonja Sohn began her rise to fame in Sundance Grand Jury winner Slam in which she starred and co-wrote. She has since worked with a host of big industry names including Martin Scorsese for Bringing out the Dead and John Singleton in Shaft. Most recently known for her role as Kima Greggs in the Emmy nominated The Wire, she has also recurred in hit tv series Brothers & Sisters, Cold Case and The Good Wife.

Jeff Thisted

Jeff Thisted


Born in Maine and raised in Colorado Springs, for the past seven years Jeff has worked as a production coordinator on “The Price is Right”, the longest-running game show in television history. Thisted's credits also include a few background appearances on "JAG", "Baywatch", "Mulholland Falls", and "Independence Day".

Event Partners

Sandals Jamaica Caribbean Airlines World Mobi

Media Partners

BBC World News


Breaking Travel News

Jax Fax


English Spanish Portuguese Chinese (Simplified) German French Russian

Find us on


Subscribe to the World Travel Awards newsletter to keep up to date with our latest news.

Our other awards

World Casino Awards World Cruise Awards World Culinary Awards World Golf Awards World MICE Awards World Ski Awards World Spa Awards World Travel Tech Awards