Show the World How It's Done North America Travel Industry Told

5 August 2009 - London

World Travel Awards Nominees Announced

The North American travel industry must demonstrate to the world the advocacy of unparalleled customer relations to address the worst economic downturn for 60 years, Graham E. Cooke, President, World Travel Awards said this week.

He was launching the 2009 World Travel Awards North American and Central American Ceremony, due to take place on 21 September at the new luxury Caribbean resort of Hacienda Tres Ríos, near Cancun, Mexico.

“Encouraging repeat business by offering the very best customer service that attracts consumers to return again and again is one of the most effective means of maintaining and growing a travel business in challenging times”, he said, “and no one does it better than this region.

“Over the past 16 years these awards have been built on fostering the very highest quality in every aspect of travel and tourism, but this year has taken on an even greater significance.

“Challenging times mean getting the best out of staff, sharpening the offering and making even more effort to go that extra kilometre”, said Cooke.

“Just how this can be delivered with exceptional flair and skill will be demonstrated in September by the winners of this year’s awards, who, regardless of the economic climate, have shown successful customer-based business strategies for a profitable future.”

The awards, described by the Wall Street Journal as the ‘Oscars’ of the international travel industry, has nominated nearly 200 North American destinations, operators, hotels, airlines and car rental in 26 categories.

Cooke said that they had chosen to stage the spectacular awards at Hacienda Tres Ríos specifically to underline an additional message. “Sustainable tourism is integral to a promising future for the industry and right from the outset Hacienda Tres Ríos set out to establish a clear environmental policy.”

“The World Travel Awards highlights the leaders in the tourism industry and we are honored to host this year’s gala event,” said Orlando Arroyo, CEO of Tres Ríos. “We are proud to showcase the successful balance of luxury and sustainable tourism at Hacienda Tres Ríos.”

Continental Airlines, Delta Airlines, North American Airlines, United Airlines and US Airways are competing for the coveted title of North America’s Leading Airline.

Ten of the most famous hotels are battling it out to become North America’s Leading Hotel – Burnham Hotel, Chicago; Four Seasons Hotel, Chicago; Jumeirah Essex House, New York; Mandarin Oriental, Miami; Parker Palm Springs, California; The Beverly Hills Hotel & Bungalows, California; The Mansion on Turtle Creek, Dallas; St. Regis Hotel, New York; The Westin Grand Bohemian, Miami and Trump International Hotel & Tower, New York are all in the running.

Log on to for the complete list of nominations for the World Travel Awards North American and Central American Ceremony 2009.

The spectacular event is followed by the World Travel Awards Grand Final which takes place at the five-star Grosvenor House, a JW Marriott hotel in London on 8 November, immediately before World Travel Market.


Notes to Editors
About World Travel Awards
• The World Travel Awards were launched in 1993 to acknowledge and recognize excellence in the world's travel and tourism industry.
• Now celebrating its 16th Anniversary, the awards are regarded as the very highest achievement that a travel product could ever hope to receive.
• Attended by senior executives from major travel companies, operators and destinations, WTA events are universally respected as providing established,
top-level networking opportunities, regionally and globally.

Log on to for regular updated information

For further information contact Jane Larcombe:
Email [email protected]
Tele +44 1892 785071


English Spanish Portuguese Chinese (Simplified) German French Russian

Find us on


Subscribe to the World Travel Awards newsletter to keep up to date with our latest news.

Vote Now

Our other awards

World Casino Awards World Cruise Awards World Culinary Awards World Golf Awards World MICE Awards World Ski Awards World Spa Awards World Travel Tech Awards