World Travel Awards reveals winners of Asia and Oceania 2021

19 October 2021 - London, UK

World Travel Awards – the leading authority that recognises and rewards excellence in travel and tourism – has revealed its Asia and Oceania 2021 winners to coincide with its Asia and Oceania 2021 Winners Day.

Winners include Vietnam, which emerged from a tough field to take ‘Asia’s Leading Destination’, whilst the Philippines was acknowledged with awards for ‘Asia’s Leading Beach Destination’ and ‘Asia’s Leading Dive Destination’. Japan’s wealth of year-round adrenaline offerings helped it to the title of ‘Asia’s Leading Adventure Tourism Destination’.

The untamed wildernesses and laid-back charms of New Zealand were recognised in the title of ‘Oceania’s Leading Destination’, with its adventure hub Queenstown voted ‘Oceania’s Leading City Destination’. French Polynesia, with its mesmerising atolls and marine life, was named ‘Oceania’s Leading Dive Destination’.

In the hospitality sector, the iconic Raffles Singapore was voted ‘Asia’s Leading Hotel’ for the second year running, South Korea’s Ananti Namhae walked away with ‘Asia’s Leading Resort’, and the paradise escape Amanpulo, Philippines named ‘Asia’s Leading Private Island Resort’. Vietnam’s InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort won ‘Asia's Leading Green Resort’. The Ascott Limited collected ‘Asia’s Leading Serviced Apartment Brand’. Travel provider winners included Vietravel (‘Asia’s Leading Tour Operator’).

Millbrook Resort, New Zealand won ‘Oceania’s Leading Hotel’ whilst Conrad Bora Bora Nui, French Polynesia claimed ‘Oceania’s Leading Resort’.

In the hotly-contested newcomer categories, The Hari Hong Kong was voted ‘Asia’s Leading New Hotel’, whilst One&Only Desaru Coast, Malaysia collected ‘Asia’s Leading New Resort’. JW Marriott Gold Coast Resort & Spa was named ‘Oceania's Leading New Hotel’.

The results follow a year-long search for the world’s top travel, tourism and hospitality brands. Votes were cast by travel industry professionals and the public, with the nominee gaining the most votes in a category named as the winner.

Graham Cooke, Founder, World Travel Awards, says: “Our winners represent the very best of Asia and Oceania’s travel and hospitality sectors and my congratulations to each of them. They are all playing starring roles in spearheading the travel and tourism recovery.”

In the aviation sector, Singapore Airlines demonstrated strength in adversity to collect ‘Asia’s Leading Airline’, whilst Royal Brunei Airlines was named ‘Asia's Leading Airline - Business Class’ and ‘Asia's Leading Cabin Crew’. Hong Kong International Airport took ‘Asia’s Leading Airport’.

For a full list of winners visit here.

For more information about World Travel Awards, visit

Notes to Editors

About World Travel Awards

WTA was established in 1993 to acknowledge, reward and celebrate excellence across all sectors of the tourism industry.

Today, the WTA brand is recognized globally as the ultimate hallmark of quality, with winners setting the benchmark to which all others aspire.

Each year, WTA covers the globe with a series of regional gala ceremonies staged to recognize and celebrate individual and collective success within each key geographical region.

WTA gala ceremonies are widely regarded as the best networking opportunities in the travel industry, attended by government and industry leaders, luminaries and international print and broadcast media.

For more information about WTA visit


English Spanish Portuguese Chinese (Simplified) German French Russian

Find us on


Subscribe to the World Travel Awards newsletter to keep up to date with our latest news.

Our other awards

World Casino Awards World Cruise Awards World Culinary Awards World Golf Awards World MICE Awards World Ski Awards World Spa Awards World Travel Tech Awards