Bolivia to host World Travel Awards Latin America Ceremony 2019

19 March 2019 - London, UK

La Paz, Bolivia

World Travel Awards (WTA) has revealed that its Latin America Ceremony 2019 will be hosted in La Paz, Bolivia on 13th July 2019.

The leading figureheads, decision-makers and influencers of Latin America’s travel and tourism industry are scheduled to attend the ceremony, which will mark WTA’s first visit to Bolivia.

The red-carpet ceremony will form part of the WTA Grand Tour 2019 – a global search for the finest travel and tourism organisations in the world.

A fast emerging tourism destination, Bolivia is a country of incredible beauty and a rich indigenous culture. From luxury resorts on the shore of Lake Titicaca to the amazing salt flats of Uyuni, Bolivia offers a wealth of travel experiences.

Chris Frost, Vice President, WTA, said: "We are deeply honoured to host our first ever ceremony in Bolivia, and I look forward to welcoming Latin America’s most senior decision-makers to this incredible country."

He added: "WTA has maintained its position as the industry leader for the past 26 years and the global benchmark for rewarding excellence in travel and tourism. I look forward to joining our nominees in La Paz for what will be a fascinating experience."

The highest administrative capital in the world, La Paz is one of the seven urban wonders of the world.

Wilma Alanoca Mamani, Minister of Cultures and Tourism of Bolivia, said: "We are delighted to welcome World Travel Awards, together with the leaders and entrepreneurs of the Latin America tourism industry with open arms to our wonderful country. The World Travel Awards Latin America Ceremony 2019 promises to be exciting. Bolivia has a rich culture and archaeology, and tourism is complementary to our living culture. La Paz, the city of peace, is unique – its geography, its people, its culture and customs coexist between the ancestral and the modernity of a metropolis."

As part of its Grand Tour 2019, WTA is also hosting ceremonies in Montego Bay (Jamaica), Abu Dhabi (UAE), Mauritius, Madeira (Portugal), Phu Quoc (Vietnam), with the winners progressing to the Grand Final in Muscat (Oman).

Notes to Editors

About World Travel Awards

WTA was established in 1993 to acknowledge, reward and celebrate excellence across all sectors of the tourism industry.

Today, the WTA brand is recognised globally as the ultimate hallmark of quality, with winners setting the benchmark to which all others aspire.

Each year, WTA covers the globe with a series of regional gala ceremonies staged to recognise and celebrate individual and collective success within each key geographical region.

WTA gala ceremonies are widely regarded as the best networking opportunities in the travel industry, attended by government and industry leaders, luminaries and international print and broadcast media.

For more information about WTA visit


World Travel Awards Public Relations
Telephone: +44 (0) 20 7925 0000
Email: [email protected]
Social: Facebook // Twitter // Instagram


English Spanish Portuguese Chinese (Simplified) German French Russian

Find us on


Subscribe to the World Travel Awards newsletter to keep up to date with our latest news.

Vote Now

Our other awards

World Casino Awards World Cruise Awards World Culinary Awards World Golf Awards World MICE Awards World Ski Awards World Spa Awards World Travel Tech Awards