Oscars of travel industry: Vote for Peru in 16 categories for which it was nominated

10 July 2023 - Andina Peru

Midnight July 9 is the deadline to vote for Peru, which has received 16 nominations at the 30th edition of the World Travel Awards (WTA).

This large list of nominations is led by Machu Picchu, Peru's tourist icon and wonder of the world, which aims to become South America's Leading Tourist Attraction 2023 for the sixth time at this prestigious international competition.

Therefore, do not wait any longer to support Peru, as voting runs until Sunday, July 9.

Hailed as the "Oscars of the travel industry," the World Travel Awards annually recognizes tourist destinations that have marked excellence in the past year and that are considered a global benchmark in the tourism industry.

According to the WTA, Peru will have the opportunity to achieve the highest recognition in global travel and tourism by winning the definitive gold standard of the industry.

Below is the full list of nominations for South America in which Peru is considered, as well as the awards it received in the previous editions of this prestigious global event.

1. Leading Tourist Attraction 2023: Machu Picchu, Peru. The UNESCO World Heritage site was the winner in the 2022, 2021, 2020, 2019, and 2018 editions.

2. Leading Cultural Destination 2023: Peru was the winner in the 2014, 2015, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021, and 2022 editions.

3. Leading Culinary Destination 2023. Peru was the winner in the 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2018, 2019, 2021, and 2022.

4. Leading Green Destination 2023. Peru was the winner in the 2010, 2011, 2017, and 2020 editions.

5. Leading Cruise Destination 2023. Peru was the winner in 2020.

6. Leading Adventure Tourism Destination 2023: Peru

7. Leading Cultural Destination 2023: Cusco, Peru

8. Leading Business Travel Destination 2023: Lima, Peru

9. Leading City Break Destination 2023: Lima, Peru

10. Leading City Destination 2023: Lima, Peru

11. Leading Destination 2023: Peru

12. Leading Nature Destination 2023: Peru

13. Leading Sports Tourism Destination 2023: Lima, Peru

14. Leading Tourist Board 2023: PromPeru

15. Leading Whale Watching Destination 2023: Peru

16. Leading Youth Travel Destination 2023: Peru

How to Vote?

All voters need to register at the WTA website to create a personal account. Once registered, you will receive a verification e-mail, and then click the verification link to gain access.

After you have completed these steps, you can log in and select the South America Region to cast your vote in favor of Peru across the 16 categories in which it has been nominated.

It should be noted that voting ends at midnight on July 9, 2023.

Travel professionals, media, and tourism consumers can vote. Besides, the candidate with the highest number of votes in each category will be announced as the winner of the 2023 World Travel Awards - South America Region.

Source: Andina Peru


English Spanish Portuguese Chinese (Simplified) German French Russian

Find us on


Subscribe to the World Travel Awards newsletter to keep up to date with our latest news.

Our other awards

World Casino Awards World Cruise Awards World Culinary Awards World Golf Awards World MICE Awards World Ski Awards World Spa Awards World Travel Tech Awards