COVID-19 Coronavirus Update

WTA 2019: Chile declared South America’s leading adventure tourism destination for the 5th time

16 July 2019 - The Santiago Times

Winners at the red carpet reception included Colombia, which fended off stiff competition to win ‘South America’s Leading Destination’, whilst Costa Rica, with its lush cloud forests and rich biodiversity, was voted ‘Mexico & Central America’s Leading Destination’.

The Incan citadel of Machu Picchu, Peru was named ‘South America’s Leading Tourist Attraction’ and the medieval charms of Quito, Ecuador helped it lift the title of ‘South America’s Leading City Destination’. Bolivia’s commitment to sustainability was acknowledged with the title of ‘South America’s Leading Green Destination’, and the mesmerizing beauty of its Salar de Uyuni recognized with ‘South America’s Leading Natural Tourist Attraction’.

Hundreds of the leading travel industries figureheads from across South and Central America attended the ceremony at Real Plaza Hotel & Convention Center.

Graham Cooke, Founder, WTA, said: “It has been an honour to bring WTA to Bolivia for the first time in our 26-year history. La Paz has proven a gracious host of what has been a spectacular evening of travel triumph, and a highlight of our 26th Grand Tour. We have had the privilege of recognising many of the leading hotels, airlines and hospitality providers from across Latin America and my congratulations to each of them.”

A fast emerging tourism destination, Bolivia is a country of incredible beauty and a rich indigenous culture. From luxury resorts on the shore of Lake Titicaca to the amazing salt flats of Uyuni, Bolivia is home to a wealth of travel experiences.

Wilma Alanoca Mamani, Minister of Cultures and Tourism of Bolivia, said: “The WTA Latin America Ceremony 2019 has been a wonderful forum to celebrate the achievements of our region’s travel industry, and to highlight the incredible unique attractions of our country. Bolivia’s particular achievements are product of a common effort of all Bolivians.

“Bolivia has a rich diverse cultural tangible and intangible heritage, and tourism is complementary to our magnificent resources. La Paz, is unique – its geography, its people, its culture, its gastronomy and customs coexist between the ancestral and the modernity of a metropolis.”

In the aviation sector, LATAM Airlines picked up the award for ‘South America’s Leading Airline’ and Aeromexico was voted ‘Mexico & Central America’s Leading Airline’. Meanwhile Quito’s state-of-the-art Mariscal Sucre International Airport emerged as ‘South America’s Leading Airport’.

Hospitality winners included Wyndham Guayaquil, Ecuador (‘South America’s Leading City Hotel’); Mashpi Lodge, Ecuador (‘South America’s Leading Eco-Lodge’); Barceló Hotels & Resorts (‘Mexico & Central America’s Leading Hotel Brand’); and Hilton Hotels & Resorts (‘South America’s Leading Hotel Brand’). In the newcomer categories, Brazil’s Vila Galé Touros was named ‘South America’s Leading New Hotel’ and Costa Rica’s Hotel Nantipa picked up ‘Mexico & Central America’s Leading New Hotel’.

A special award for ‘Latin America’s Leading Travel Personality’ was presented to Juan Cruz Adrogue, President of Chapelco Ski Resort, for his role in transforming it into one of South America’s finest ski resorts, and his ground-breaking initiatives to generate opportunities for the local community.

The VIP ceremony formed the fifth leg of the WTA Grand Tour 2019 – a search for the finest travel and tourism organisations in the world. Other 2019 regional ceremonies include Montego Bay (Jamaica), Abu Dhabi (UAE), Mauritius, Madeira (Portugal), Phu Quoc (Vietnam), with the winners progressing to the Grand Final in Muscat (Oman).

Find a full list of winners on the official WTA website.

Source: The Santiago Times


English Spanish Portuguese Chinese (Simplified) German French Russian

Follow us


Subscribe to the World Travel Awards newsletter to keep up to date with our latest news.

Our other awards

World Golf Awards World MICE Awards World Ski Awards World Spa Awards