COVID-19 Coronavirus Update

Yas Island attractions secure multiple wins at World Travel Awards

3 May 2019 - Australian Leisure Management

Ferrari World Abu Dhabi, home to the world’s fastest rollercoaster, was named the ‘Middle East’s Leading Theme Park’ for the third year running, while Yas Waterworld Abu Dhabi was recognised as the ‘Middle East’s Leading Waterpark’. Making its debut at the Awards after opening its doors to the public in July 2018, Warner Bros. World Abu Dhabi earned the title of the ‘Middle East’s Leading Tourist Attraction’, racking up more votes than its fellow nominees.

Commenting on the triple bill of accolades, Mark Gsellman, Vice President of theme parks at Farah Experiences, stated “we could not be more thrilled to see our beloved parks win big at this year’s World Travel Awards. Voted for by members of the public, these awards are a testament to the world-class guest experience that we work tirelessly to deliver, day in and day out.

“Our commitment to guests is our highest priority, and it is imperative that we hold ourselves to world class industry standards to ensure that we can deliver some of the most unique, truly immersive, and fun-filled family entertainment the region has to offer”.

“Our three iconic theme parks make Yas Island an ideal destination for guests and travelers from across the globe – there’s something to satisfy all ages, tastes and interests. Every year, we proudly add to our list of achievements, channeling our success into further developments to create unforgettable memories for our guests from across the globe.”

This year’s Middle East’s Leading Theme Park award was accepted by Bianca Sammut, General Manager of Ferrari World Abu Dhabi while Yas Waterworld’s award was accepted by its General Manager, Leander Werner De Wit. Warner Bros. World Abu Dhabi’s General Manager Don Strickler, collected the award on behalf of the park.

The Awards were presented at this year’s World Travel Awards (WTA) Middle East gala ceremony, which took place on the 25th April.

The World Travel Awards were established in 1993 to acknowledge, reward and celebrate excellence across all key sectors of the travel, tourism and hospitality industries. Today, the WTA brand is recognised globally as the ultimate hallmark of industry excellence.

Source: Australian Leisure Management


English Spanish Portuguese Chinese (Simplified) German French Russian

Follow us


Subscribe to the World Travel Awards newsletter to keep up to date with our latest news.

Our other awards

World Golf Awards World MICE Awards World Ski Awards World Spa Awards